Exciting news - we have changed our name to
New name - same great products and service >>
Standard Delivery (UK Mainland) is now only 3.99 (within 5 days) or you can upgrade to Next Day Delivery for just 8.99

Community Fun

Product Review Competition

Write a Product Review & Win a Prize

 
If you want to review a product that you’ve bought from us, or had given to you recently we’d love to hear from you and you could win a prize. Each month we will pick the most informative or helpful product review and send the winner a great prize. Send us your review by one of these methods:
 
1) find the relevant product page and submit your review form online from there
 
2) email us at enquiries@presentsformen.com
 
3) write to us at Presents for Men, Fairfax House, 8 Fairfax Road, Heathfield, Devon, TQ12 6UD
 
We will publish the winners here so be sure to check back and start writing those reviews. See terms and conditions below.
 

July 2014 Product Review Winner

Congratulations to Clare Smith, our July 2014 Product Review Winner…

Aluminium Card Wallet>>
The last one of these I had lasted 6 years before the clasp broke! I hope this one will do the same. Good and sturdy and easy to find in my bag even when it's dark, as one side is ribbed and the other smooth, which makes identification by feel alone easy. Holds all my cards and the odd token easily. Also holds train tickets.


 

Previous Product Review Winners

Budget Airline Bag>>
We bought 2 of these to take away on a city break. We had no problems with our budget airline in using them. They sat comfortably on shoulders like a backpack and held all our requirements for our holiday. As they opened more like a traditional suitcase they were easy to pack. Very pleased with them. I am sure they will be used by the whole family for mini trips. More than just a weekend bag! Had ample room for our 4 nights/5 day break. - Diane Hughes (June 2014 Review Winner)
 

Pack of 3 Cooling Scarves>>
Thank goodness someone invented these simple scarves! I have suffered from sweats for most of my adult life (I'm now 62) and these scarves are an absolute godsend. Whether you're just watching the TV or out and about, these really do cool you down. Not only have I tried wearing one in the traditional style but, they are also effective worn on the wrists. I have kept two for myself and given the 3rd to my sister in law, who is going through the change and, I know she is pleased with it, as well. If I can have one criticism, it would be that, I wish they did a set in a bolder colour choice! - Penny Welstead (May 2014 Review Winner)
 

BPA-Free Reusable Small Bottle - 350ml>>
This bottle is excellent for day trips and also next to your bed at night. It doesn't have a sports spout but it is easy to drink from without any spilling (even on my treadmill) and it is so easy to fill up and wash, as it has two screw off top parts. I haven't had a BPA free bottle before so I was really impressed with the clean taste of the water compared to my usual disposable bottles. This is better for the environment too.-Carnie Pollock (April 2014 Review Winner)
 

Compression Socks>>
After I had a deep vein thrombosis I was told to wear compression socks ever after. I got them from the pharmacy. Then, about five years ago, I saw your travel socks and tried them. Now I use them nearly all the time. And I found that I could buy them at the pharmacy, but for about five times the price! So please keep stocking them, they have been tremendous. Any chance of another colour, say blue?
-Robin Field (March 2014 Review Winner)

 
Savoury and Sweet Popcorn Seasoning>>
Ive tried many seasonings for pop corn with little success but these are tasty, I do however have a top tip to share! Melt a little butter in a pot, mix the powder with the melted butter, take off the heat and add the pop corn kernels and mix them around in the butter, pop on the lid and return to heat and get popping! You get a far better flavour than just sprinkling on the powder and each kernel is coated, my fav is the maple syrup!
-Gillian Hunter (February 2014 Review Winner)


Battery-Powered Storm Lanterns>>
With young grandchildren around, we needed a 'safe' hurricane lamp. This LED battery operated lamp is perfect. We tend to incur a lot of power cuts and so are very happy to leave this lamp within reach and the children can use it too. It gives an excellent light with the added bonus of a dimmer switch. In a kitchen it would enable me to still continue to cook. Placed on a table it gives enough light to eat, play a board game, although not at the same time and for a short period, read. A good lamp for the garden or tent too.
-Lindsey Bushell (January 2014 Review Winner)


iSlice>>
I'm a girl who likes a gadget. I have the selloptape thingy for the back of your hand and all that I needed to gadget wrap my presses this year was this. I am shocked by the other reviews because this cut through my paper (foil too) with no problem and didn't cut the tablecloth. I tested it on my skin (good job it works!) and not a scratch. It also opened taped boxes and all in all I liked it. Only problem is it's quite small so keep it somewhere safe. GREAT!
-Caroline Hunter-Lascelles (December Review Winner)


SealSkinz® Waterproof Cap >>
Baseball caps are brilliant for keeping the sun & rain out of your eyes & keeping your spectacles dry. They can also be turned 180 degress & keep your neck from sun burn/rain. Easily adjusted with plenty of room for big heads. I used to have a cloth one but it faded & got wet in rain. 100% waterproof I use it dog walking every day & it fits just right with the adjustable Velcro strap at the back......not blown off yet! What I will not be able to do with this, that I did with my old cotton one is soak it in water to cool me down on hot days well worth the sacrifice at £25. I would rather be waterproof & buy a cheap cotton hat for that job in the summer. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED & better than my Goretex skull cap with a small paek in the front!
-Simon White (November Review Winner)


Fiz Pump Cap >>
This is a great little gadget especially for anyone who is fed up of lemonade or cola going 'flat' halfway through the bottle. It's so easy to use just pump the small 'bulb' on the top of the cap to refill the air in the bottle and stop the lemonade from going flat. It says on the instructions to 'flip the top' to open the bottle again, but be prepared for a loud 'whoosh' as the air is released. I find it simpler just to unscrew the top slightly to let the air out, then pour and tighten the top before pumping the air back into the bottle, but kids will probably love the loud noise and it will remind them to pump it up again once they've used it. A brilliant idea and well worth the money. 
- Syd Kitching (October Review Winner)


Monocular >>
I originally bought this as a gift only to find the intended recipient already has one. I tried it out myself though and was so impressed I kept them. I wear glasses and, with or without them, I have never been able to use binoculars as I simply cannot focus them. This monocular is wonderful, I can use it without my glasses and also, because the eyepiece is so soft, I can keep my glasses on and put the eyepiece to my glasses without any scratches. The lens quality is excellent, focus range good and magnification clear and free of distortion. Of reassuringly sturdy construction it appears to be manufactured from high quality materials throughout and comes with a good, slightly padded protective case. They truly are pocket sized (even for the often very small pockets in womens' clothing) and, though I'd checked the measurements before I ordering, I was still delighted how tiny those dimensions were when translated into the actual item.
- Clare (September Review Winner)


Call Blocker >>
What a marvellous product. The good thing is it actually works. Have blocked Interrnational calls, and from 2 to 3 each day, I haven't had one since I installed it 2 weeks ago SO IT ACTUALLY WORKS! It is also small and compact and fitted in seconds. You can block 1 or more type of call. Just one thing to consider. If you block 'withheld' calls, this will also block calls from say your own bank or from Companies you have ordered goods from as a lot are witheld numbers. This should not be a problem because 99% of nuisance calls are from abroad and and with accents you can't understand anyway. Brilliant product.
- Robert Hall (August Review Winner)


Gentle Grip Socks >>
These socks are excellent and great value for money. I have looked everywhere and could not find socks for my husband that didn't leave huge grooves in his legs and that you could be comfortable in the UK's mild weather. All the socks we found had way too much elastic and were far too thick for spring and summer wear. These socks fit the bill. Very little elastic and cool for warm weather and at a very good price.
- Sharon Long (July Review Winner)


 Dual Power Bank >>
My daughter wanted a decent charger that would keep her phone charged for the duration of Glastonbury, if you charge up the blue power bank it will charge an Iphone fully four times plus a bit and counts down from 99 on the display how much charge is left. It takes about 7 to 8 hours to fully charge then ready to go. This is the 2nd one I have now brought as our family of four are off to Australia for five weeks and have four iPhones and two iPads to keep charged so will be great for when we are not near sockets. Top tip don't leave the charging cable plugged into the power bank when not using as this continues to slowly drain the charge level, with nothing plugged in the charge number stays the same.
- Jane Stevens (June Review Winner)


The World's Lightest Fold-Flat Wheeled Cabin Bag >>
One of my best birthday presents ever! This ingenious case is a must for everyone who wants a light, strong, wheeled suitcase of carry on dimensions, with the added benefit that it folds flat for easy storage, away and at home. The mechanism (like all the best designs) is simple and brilliant. Please may we have a wider range of colours, making it easier to identify our own case more easily in a packed overhead locker? 
- Granny Di (May Review Winner)


x10 Magnifying Mirror - Handbag Size >>
I am really pleased with these mirrors. They are well made, supplied with a velvet pouch and the stand is really useful. It is hard to buy a small mirror with such powerful magnification. The type that I have previously bought has suction pads, which don't always stick and do not have a plain mirror on the reverse side. These mirrors are an excellent alternative and at a brilliant price too! Perfect size for any handbag. 
- JoJo (April Review WInner)


Alfresco Anti Bug Bite Moisturiser >>
I've used this ever since it came out. It's non greasy and, unusually for a mosquito repellent, it smells nice. It has no nasty chemicals and doesn't melt your nail varnish either. I add a bit of Moziguard to the bits that show in the evening to add a bit more protection and that is natural too and doesn't mess up my sensitive skin. Would recommend. 
- Mary Drew (March Review Winner)


Proppa Toppa Sun Hat >>
Excellent hat, just the job for rolling up into a suitcase. It pops up like new without creases and still managing to look stylish. It is cool and lightweight, perfect for hot sunny holidays. Just exactly what I was looking for and I find it difficult to find hats that fit due to my big head! This one is adjustable so perfect all round! 
- Libby Herbert (February 2013 Winner)


Deluxe Ice & Mud Grabbers >>
These are great - used them today for the first time and didn't slip once in a 3.5 mile walk in the snow, even on some downhill slopes. Usually I'm rubbish in the snow. When they first turned up they took a real effort to get onto my boots (I'm right at the top of the medium size range) but leaving them on an old pair for 2 months has certainly eased them out and they slipped onto my walking boots quite easily today. 
- Lynda Murchie (January 2013 Winner)


Flashcard Torch >>
I find new uses for the Flashcard all the time - on nightime walks, both locating my dogs' poop, and making vehicles aware of our presence in narrow country lanes - then there's finding the keyhole at night, searching for lost objects in dark corners, and going to bed late without waking the wife. The flashcard is small and slim enough to carry in a wallet or pocket all the time and cheap enough to have several to hand. In short, indispensable!
- Guy Dugdale (December 2012 Winner)


Ezy-Reach Light Bulb Changer >>
Husband has frequently spent up to 20 mins at a time precariously balanced on a chair, reaching up to gain access to an inset bulb. I showed him this little gadget ages ago, but he used his 'Victor Meldrew' response 'yes, they're fine all these gadgets, but a lot of them don't work and they are a rip off'! Sooooo I didn't tell him, ordered one and waited. Not one but TWO bulbs blew the other evening, I can't print his reaction, but I produced 'the gadget' and got the 'well I'll give it a go' response. He reappeared two minutes later, grinning from ear to ear! 'That thing you bought is brilliant!! It does it! I stood on the floor (!!! not rocket science!!) it takes the bulb out and just pops the new one in!!' Fantastic! Brilliant buy!'  Well, I usually DO know best!!!
- Linda Seddon (November 2012 Winner)


Good Morning Gorgeous Message Dessert Spoon >>
I decided to give the pair of spoons, this one and the companion one more suitable for a gent, to a couple of my friends celebrating their silver wedding. I wrapped them so that the one addressed to him contained "her" spoon, ("good morning gorgeous") along with instructions that he was to give it to her to open, and similarly with "his" spoon, - the "hello handsome" one, for him to open when given by her. This worked very well indeed and both were delighted. I think these make an ideal present for a silver wedding, as by the time you reach that age(!) you have enough large bits and pieces, and these spoons are immediately useful, as well as being decorative and fun. They are beautifully labelled and packaged.
- Sheila Douse (October 2012 Winner)

 

Garden Kneeler & Seat >>
An outstanding product which has reinvigorated my elderly father's gardening after an illness. The handles are perfect for lifting oneself up off the ground, and when upturned its sturdy nature allows Dad to sit and deadhead flowers for much longer than before.
- James Macartney (September 2012 Winner)

Personalised Beano Comic >>
This arrived in immaculate condition, I've never ordered anything personalised online before so was quite wary of this, but my doubts were all put to rest when I looked at the comic. It was amazing & the person who I bought it for loved it also. I now want someone to make me a personalised comic! Will definitely recommend this product to others, as a gift this is a really good product.
- Sundas Hussain (August 2012 Winner)


Window Bird Feeder >>
I agree with quite a few of the comments above but found the following to be of help. The hole is quite small but is easily filled with a tablespoon/dessertspoon every morning (and sometimes twice a day now). Our birds took 2-3 months to work out where the feeder was (this could be due to the fact that we were so keen to see the little chaps that it's in the kitchen window with lots of movement inside), so as mentioned above, we put some bird seed/tidbits on the window ledge and on the ground and within days they had arrived. I say stick with it before giving up after a couple of months. We have been very lucky to have a woodpecker visit too even though he's quite large and has to do some acrobatics to stay on the perch. I bought one for my father and he had birds on the first day - GREAT PRESENT!
- Hazel Cumming (July 2012 Winner)


Ultra Bright Eye Light >>
BRILLIANT!!!! Really recommend this. Took one away on holiday as often the bedside lights aren't enough for reading, so useful there. On this occasion it was used by my son and his wife as illumination in a bedroom when they needed to feed the baby and the light switch was nowhere near the bed. they were really impressed. will stand anywhere and really easy to switch on, would be great for anyone with arthritis. I shall be ordering more for presents, intend keeping one in the car as it packs into a very small box and can be tucked into a tiny space. fantastic. One of my best every buys!
- Linda Seddon (June 2012 Winner)

Furminator Pet Grooming Tool >>
I was a bit sceptical about spending so much on what is essentially a dog comb, but it really is worth the money. A few sweeps across my spaniel produced loads of loose fur that otherwise would have been on the floor and sofa. You do need to take some care with it, particularly around delicate & bony areas, but most definitely worth the money.
- Victoria Wigginton (May 2012 Winner)

Hot Rox Electronic Hand Warmer >>
I bought my Hot Rox recently and have already used it on 4 separate occasions. I did a car boot when it was frosty and even slipped it down my sock to warm my feet! It's been to a football match and kept my hands warm watching my favourite team and yesterday it kept me warm between games at a hockey tournament. Very easy to heat up and very compact and efficient. I'm thinking of getting another one so I can do both hands at once. Very impressed and well worth the price.
- Shirley (April 2012 Winner)
 
Folding Stepladder Chair >>
Very sturdy small ladder which can also be used for a chair. We've bought it to take camping, can use it to load the topbox on the car, hang the inner on the tent and an extra seat for guests - can't wait to go away. Our little boy is already using it as a chair to sit at the dining table at home as it's just the right height for him to reach.
-  Alison (March 2012 Winner)
 
Power Monkey - Mega Power Battery Booster >>
Power Monkey saves bacon! It really is. Does it really hold it's own charge for ages? It really does. Is it easy to work? It's a doddle. Does it work? Like a dream,it's already saved my bacon. So would I recommend it? You betcha. There are adapters for mobiles and cameras and laptops and ipods and all that stuff. Plus you can get more of them online if you have a bit of ancient technology like my camera. There are converters for several, that's several, different countries' power idiosyncrasies, so you can charge it up abroad too. In this country you can stow away the extras in the plastic box it all comes in and carry around the bits you need in the handy little black bag provided. Buy one now,you won't regret it.
- Winnie (February 2012 Winner)
 

Product Review Prize Terms & Conditions

  1. This competition is open to UK residents aged 18 or over except employees of M&G Presents Ltd or their families, their associated agents or anyone else who is directly connected with the creation or administration of the competition.
     
  2. By entering this competition the entrant will be deemed to have read and understood these rules and to be bound by them. All information provided by you should be correct.
     
  3. Entries through third parties or agents are invalid.
     
  4. All personal data will be handled by M&G Presents Ltd in accordance with the Data Protection Act, for further information please click the following link: http://www.presentsformen.co.uk/privacy-and-security-artlcs_security/
     
  5. We reserve the right to cancel or amend the competition without notice in the case of force majeure or circumstances outside of our care and control. Any changes or cancellations will appear on this website.
     
  6. The decision of M&G Presents Ltd as to the winners will be final and binding on entrants and no correspondence will be entered into.
     
  7. Notwithstanding that the winner has been declared, if M&G Presents Ltd discovers before the delivery of the prize that for any reason under these rules the winner should be declared invalid, M&G Presents Ltd reserves the right to determine that the winner is disqualified and to select a replacement winner if it wishes to do so.
     
  8. The names and counties of the winners may be published in M&G Presents Ltd brochures, social media websites, press releases, M&G Presents Ltd websites and marketing communications material.
     
  9. The prize will be determined by M&G Presents Ltd each month and is non-transferable. No cash alternatives can be taken.
     
  10. No payments are required to enter the competition.
     
  11. Any dispute regarding the rules of the competition or the winner will be decided by M&G Presents Ltd.
     
  12. M&G Presents Ltd will have no liability towards any entrant for any losses sustained as a result of any entrant not winning the competition, including but not limited to reasons due to entries being lost in the post or not received over the internet.
     
  13. Should there be any disputes regarding these terms and conditions and/or any elements of the competition, the law of England will apply (unless proceedings are brought in Scotland or Northern Ireland, in which case Scottish or Northern Irish law, as applicable with apply) and the parties agree to the exclusive jurisdiction of England and Wales (unless you are a resident of Scotland or Northern Ireland in which case any proceedings may be brought in Scotland or Northern Ireland or England and Wales).
     
  14. All entries should be unique and original. M&G Presents Ltd may reject any entries that appear to infringe any intellectual property rights of any third parties. Any intellectual property rights in the winning entry will be passed on to M&G Presents Ltd and M&G Presents Ltd may use the winning entry in any way that it wishes.
     
  15. There are no restrictions as to how many products a person may review to enter the competition.
     
  16. Each month M&G Presents Ltd will pick what it deems to be the most informative or helpful product review as the winning entry.
     
  17. Each winner will be notified by email or post within two weeks of the end of the month.
     
  18. The winners will be chosen by M&G Presents Ltd.
     
  19. To enter the competition entrants must submit a product review by either submitting website product page review form, by emailing us at enquiries@presentsformen or writing to us at Presents for Men, Fairfax House, 8 Fairfax Road, Heathfield, Devon, TQ12 6UD
     
  20. The winners will be notified by email or post as applicable. The winner must respond within 5 business working days (Monday to Friday, inclusive) or be deemed to have forfeited the prize. If a response is sent by post, the response must be received by M&G Presents Ltd within 7 business working days.